la vache-fille

I’ve been drawing cowgirls lately. Lonesome cowgirls a long way from home.

When I was a kid, (I wasn’t in school yet so I must have been like 3-6 years old) I had this neighbor called Nisse.

He was one year older than me and lived upstairs from us in our apartment building in Stockholm.

I used to go up to their apartment to play quite often.

I wasn’t in love with him or anything like that… I knew very well what love was (even though I was of a considerably young age at the time) and that was not how I felt for him. No, what drew me to his home was two things mainly.

One being his dad.

And the other being a cabinet under his tv, with a sliding door to it, filled with… Lucky Luke-films!

He had so many and I never got tired of watching them.

My sister teased me for hanging out with Nisse so much, saying I was in love with him. But it was never like that.

It was allways Lucky who held my heart in his hand.

That poor lonesome man, riding off into the sunset… oh, that beautiful outro, with that lonesome cowboy-theme song! It really crept under my skin and stayed with me for all these years.

I can see that sunset before my eyes now and imagine myself riding towards it. All alone. The warmth of the desert sun.  The calm of the mountains. Just riding off slowly to where ever my horse takes me.

Don’t know if I’ll be able to scan my drawings anytime soon since I’ll be returning to my hometown to see family and friends.

Yeah, you know how it is. Life ‘n all that… My mom (6:48 in the vid) is the best by the way. I can’t wait to spend christmas with her and my sisters! Mommy! Sisters! YEY!

Leave a Reply

