My greatest source of inspiration, Julie Doucet!

The most amazing thing happened today! I got a hand written letter from Julie Doucet!

My beautiful and awesome cool roomie Lisa came in to the kitchen (where I was sitting hunched over my morning coffee, staring blankly at my just updated facebook-status: ggrrlllmmmfffrrr. Yes you could definitely say I was feeling a bit low.) and said “Hey Frida, even I recognize the lettering on this envelope”.

Then she handed it over to me. 

I was kind of in a state of trance, took the envelope, stared at it for a minute or two.

My eyes drifted slowly up to the senders address-corner …and my heart just stopped.

Then a rush of happiness throughout my entire system!

JULIE! Ma chère Julie! She had written me a real letter! By hand! And she drew in it! Haha! And she reprinted her first 3 issues of Dirty Plotte, sowed their spines by hand, all of this just for meeee!!! AaaaAAaAAAAaaaAA!!!

 

So to honour this amazingly inspiring woman, I drew a Julie Doucet pig for Thursday of pig week.

Torsdag

Also! More great pig news! Now you can all enjoy my favourite pigs of the day by just a simple clickellyclick! Click here for Lisa Medins pig pic and click here for LouLous funny swine-post. ENJOY!

16 thoughts on “My greatest source of inspiration, Julie Doucet!

  1. Oh, the letter said (among many things: 4 pages!!!) “I got your Stockholm diary too – very good! not enough women are talking/ drawing about sex sex sex and being comfortable about it” haha! She likes my work! ^_^

    BTW Kenan, I had an idea that I wanted to write you about. I’ll send you a mail via facebook!🙂

    love
    Frida

    PS. YOU are amazing! DS

  2. frida and julie sitting in a tree – k.i.s.s.i.n.g! åh jag är helt säker på att ni har 18 fina år framför er…hihi. hoppas stocktown är fantastiskt.

    • Liiisaaaa, Stockholm är ingenting mot dig och prinsessrummet vet du la!
      Idag hade jag ångest och gömde mig i en skål med linssoppa på ett café… stirrade på luren utan att svara… men de där 18 ljuva åren (only met twice, det låter ju lagom safe!) framför mig håller humöret uppe.😀

      Imorgon är det mammafest, DÅ blir det fantastiskt minsann!❤

    • Loka! Dumma dumma wordpress hade sorterat dig som spam! dumma wordpress, Loka är ju finbesök, hon ska verkligen inte förpassas till spamhörnan. FY!

      ELLER HUR, WOW! Jag har brevet med mig vart jag än går sedan jag fick det ^_^

      Jag vill hälsa på ateljén! är du i stan nu eller gömmer du dig i skogen?

      Kramkramkram

    • awww… nu blev jag allt lite rosig om kinden… ^_^

      Kollade din blogg förresten och såg att du också deltagit i grisveckan! Vad kul!😀

      • Kan jag få dig rosig om kinderna bara genom att vara ärlig så blir jag glad själv.😉

        Jo, grisarna, ja.. Det är ju ditt fel!! Det var din blogg som jag såg allt i.. Nu kom jag ju in i veckan för sent, då, men när kattveckan kommer så får jag vara beredd!🙂

      • När jag var liten hade vi två honkatter. De var i-n-t-e steriliserade. På gården på Söder där vi bodde fanns en hel drös med hankatter. Våra kattor var kåta töser så det slutade med ett flertal kullar med kattungar. Jag ääälskade katterna!
        Men sedan träffade mamma en man som var allergisk och då blev hon plötsligt allergisk också (detta var myyyycket suspekt…) och då rök förstås kissarna…

        I hjärtat är jag nog mest kattmänniska, men jag kan tycka mycket om vissa hundar också.

  3. Pingback: Home away from home. Or just home. I don’t really know anymore… « Min Stockholmsdagbok

  4. Pingback: A good day « Min Stockholmsdagbok

Leave a Reply

